1950s wood house, 20-min walk to station, Shimane
Gotsu, Shimane
- Year built
- 1957
- Building size
- Not available
- Land size
- Not stated
- Structure
- Wood
Saved homes live in this browser. View your saved homes
About this home
Two houses on one plot: a 1979 wooden structure with eight rooms across two floors, plus a relocated 67-year-old cypress storehouse.
Garden views from the veranda; septic system. Twenty minutes walk to Asari station.
Draft summary from the listing, not yet reviewed by a founder.
From the listing
Listing: ◎A 2-story house in a compact residential area about 15 minutes east of central Gotsu City by car. Located on the mountain side high area across from a national highway, with a view of the sea and windmills unique to Gotsu from the 2nd floor. ◎The cypress-constructed single-story building (67 years old) was relocated from Matsukawa-cho in the city. The newly built 2-story portion is 45 years old. The interior has 8 spacious rooms including Japanese and Western style rooms. ◎About 20 years ago, the roof was replaced and the exterior was repainted. The plumbing is old-fashioned but can be used as-is; the gas water heater was replaced in 2022. ◎Septic tank is installed and the toilet is flush. Additional septic tank management fees apply. ◎Some household items were removed in November 2025. / Special Notes: Repairs needed: ceiling replacement from stairs to 2nd floor hallway / plumbing (as needed) / other. Note: Water stains on the ceiling from stairs to 2nd floor hallway occurred during exterior work before the roof replacement. On-site parking available for 1 light or standard vehicle; 2nd and subsequent vehicles require separate rental parking contract nearby. Please consult during viewing if interested. / Nearby facilities: Seven-Eleven Gotsu Asari branch: ~650m, Komosawa Park: ~1.2km, Shimada Kiln: ~1.6km, Lawson・Poplar Gotsu Maino-ichi branch: ~2.1km, Kagura no Sato Maino-ichi: ~2.1km
Specifications
- Year built
- 1957
- Structure
- Wood
- Floors
- 2
- Rooms
- 8DK
- Water
- City water
- Sewer
- Septic (single)
Where a detail is not shown, the source listing did not state it. We leave it out rather than guess.
Floor plans
The price in context
The nearest official land-price benchmark is about 13,800 yen per sqm, down about 7% over five years (14,800 to 13,800), which the survey classes as declining.
Source: Japan's Ministry of Land land-price survey. A benchmark for the area, not a valuation of this home.
Area and hazard data
5 checks clear, 1 to know about. Each check is against a government map for this exact point. Where a map is missing or we can't use it, we say so; that never means there's no risk.
- Earthquake code Caution
- Built before the 1981 earthquake code. Expect a structural survey, harder mortgages, and a retrofit budget; towns often grant part of that cost.
- Strong-earthquake chance Checked, clear
- About 2% chance of a strong quake (shindo 6-lower or above) in 30 years, low for Japan, where most places sit between 3% and 26%
- Landslide risk Checked, clear
- Checked: no designated landslide zone at this location. Zone edges are approximate, and this is not a legal property disclosure document.
- Flood risk Checked, clear
- Checked: outside a mapped flood area. The maps cover designated rivers only, so this is not a promise of no flooding.
- Tsunami risk Checked, clear
- Checked: no designated tsunami inundation zone at this location
- Liquefaction Checked, clear
- Low liquefaction susceptibility for the ground here
Source: Estimated from year built
Source: National earthquake-hazard model
Source: Government hazard map
Source: Government hazard map
Source: Government hazard map
Source: National landform survey
A pre-1981 build predates Japan's current earthquake code, which can matter for insurance and renovation. We flag the era from the year built where we have it.
- Setting
- About 22.7 km to the nearest built-up town area (population about 9,000)
- Clinic
- About 9 min walk
Location
- Area
- Gotsu, Shimane
- Setting
- About 22.7 km to the nearest built-up town area (population about 9,000)
- Clinic
- About 9 min walk
This marks an approximate area, not the exact building. The circle is a rough radius from the listing's published address, so you can see the neighbourhood without us guessing at a precise spot. The published address only names the neighbourhood.
Rules of this akiya bank
These are the bank's published eligibility rules, not confirmation that your intended use of this home is allowed. Check with the municipality and owner.
-
Residence or regular-stay requirement
Not established
No explicit buyer-residency rule found in the checked bank pages.
Unknown does not mean permitted. No restriction or permission has been inferred.
Read official bank rules Checked 2026-10-06 -
Business-use exclusion
Not established
No explicit property business-use rule found; website reuse terms are not property-use rules.
Unknown does not mean permitted. No restriction or permission has been inferred.
Read official bank rules Checked 2026-10-06 -
Resale restriction
Not established
No explicit post-purchase resale ban or holding period found. Unknown is not permission.
Unknown does not mean permitted. No restriction or permission has been inferred.
Read official bank rules Checked 2026-10-06
Grants and rules
2 programmes in our data could apply to this home, all with conditions you would have to meet first. Amounts change every year. Always confirm with the town before you rely on a figure.
-
Regional Revitalization Migration Support Program (Household) ConditionalUp to 1,000,000 yen
What you would need
Base amount for household migration: up to 1 million yen. Additional 1 million yen per child under 18 may be added (stackable add-on, not included in base cap).
- Resident of Tokyo 23 wards or commuting to Tokyo 23 wards from Tokyo Metropolitan Area (excluding disadvantaged regions)
- Plus 3 more conditions on the town's page.
-
Regional Revitalization Migration Support Program (Single) ConditionalUp to 600,000 yen
What you would need
Base amount for single migration: up to 600,000 yen.
- Resident of Tokyo 23 wards or commuting to Tokyo 23 wards from Tokyo Metropolitan Area (excluding disadvantaged regions)
- Plus 3 more conditions on the town's page.
Official source for Regional Revitalization Migration Support Program (Single) (opens in a new tab)
Interested in this house?
Every message gets a reply from one of the founders. We can talk through the home, help you think about a renovation, and connect you with a licensed agent in Japan for buying help. Clear flat fee pricing, nothing to pay until you decide to go ahead.
- 1Tell us where you are and what you would use it for.
- 2We check the home and the town's rules with you, free.
- 3If you go ahead, a licensed agent in Japan handles the purchase for a flat fee.
35 other homes currently listed in Gotsu.
Gotsu, Shimane
1970s wood house, 17-min walk to station, Shimane
6,000,000 yen
(approx. GBP 28,000)
Gotsu, Shimane
1970s wood house, 3-min walk to station, Shimane
2,000,000 yen
(approx. GBP 9,000)
Gotsu, Shimane
1970s wood house in Shimane
400,000 yen
(approx. GBP 2,000)
Before you buy
Where this data comes from
Every fact on this page comes from the town's own listing or an official government record, checked for this address. Where a fact is missing, we say so rather than guess.
- Landslide-risk areas, from Japan's Ministry of Land mapping data (KSJ A33).
- Flood-risk areas, from Japan's Ministry of Land mapping data (KSJ A31a).
- Tsunami-risk areas, from Japan's Ministry of Land mapping data (KSJ A40).
- Earthquake-hazard forecast, from the national J-SHIS model (2024).
- Stations, coastline and schools, from Japan's Ministry of Land mapping data.
- Official land prices, from Japan's Ministry of Land land-price survey.
Map data: National Land Numerical Information (Kokudo Suchi Joho), Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, processed by Engawa.
出典:「国土数値情報」(国土交通省)(https://nlftp.mlit.go.jp/ksj/)をEngawaが加工して作成
- Checked against the town's listing
- Checked against the town's listing: 2026-10-05
- Source listing last changed
- Source listing last changed: 2026-07-20
- Original listing
- www.city.gotsu.lg.jp (opens in a new tab)
We re-check listings against their sources through the week. Where a fact is missing, we say so rather than guess. Data from the source listing plus official government records.